European organisations

The following represent just a selection of European organisations who are part of the European Integration Process.

European Union

The European Union (EU) is an organisation sui generis. It has a unique character and there is no similar organisation. Currently there are 28 member-countries. It is a multilinguistic organisation with 24 official languages. Those 28 member-countries have above 500 million habitants. The EU had a GDP of 15336 Billion € in 2017, this makes the EU one of the largest economic areas of the world. Brussels, Luxemburg, Strasbourg and Frankfurt are the most well-known locations of EU-Institutions (Eurostat, 2018).

For further information, please see:

Nordic Council

The Nordic Council is founded in 1952 by Denmark, Island, Norway, Sweden and Finland. Nowadays also Greenland, the Faroe Islands and the Åland Islands are associated members. It is an inter-parliamentarian organization and tries to deepen the Nordic cooperation. It has no legal powers and is mainly an advisory body and a forum for Nordic policy. Thanks to the Nordic Council its members enjoy a common Nordic passport- and tariff union as well as a common Nordic labour market since 1954 (Nordic Council, 2018).

For further information, please see:

Union for the Mediterranean

The Union for the Mediterranean was founded in Paris on the 13th of July 2008. It is based in Barcelona and has 43 member-countries; 28 EU-Members and its Mediterranean neighbouring countries. The Union was created on basis of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership and has 3 interrelated priorities for the region; stability, human-development and regional integration. Around 40 % of the trade volume of EU´s Mediterranean neighbouring countries is done with member-countries. It official languages are English, French and Arabic (Union of the Mediterranean, 2018).

For further information, please see:

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe is the oldest organisation of European democracies. It was founded on the 5th of May 1949 in the French city Strasbourg. Currently there are 47 Members of the Council of Europe. It is an independent intergovernmental organization and is neither legally nor organizational related to the European Union. The aims of the Council of Europe are to protect and to foster democracy, human rights and the rule of law. Its official languages are English and French. However, German and Italian and Russian are working languages. Some of the most important treaties and conventions of the Council of Europe are the European Convention on Human Rights and the European Social Charter (Council of Europe, 2018).

For further information, please see: